
Well, here it is, just do the math.
For the U.S. team to advance, we must defeat Ghana
in its last game. In addition to beating Ghana, the
United States needs one of these scenarios to take
place:
1. Italy defeats the Czech Republic.
2. Italy ties the Czech Republic 0-0 or 1-1 AND the
United States beats Ghana by at least four goals.
3. Italy ties the Czech Republic 2-2 or with a higher
score AND the United States beats Ghana by five or more goals.
4. Italy ties the Czech Republic 2-2 or with a higher
score AND the United States beats Ghana by four goals
AND the U.S. team scores at least three goals more
than the Czechs do in their tie.
5. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is six or more.
6. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is five AND the U.S. team scores at least
three goals more than the Italians do in their loss.
7. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is five AND the U.S. team scores exactly
two more goals than the Italians do in their loss
AND the Americans win a drawing of lots by FIFA.
------------------------------------------------
So the options are slim if the Italians don't win.
But if they don't and the Ghanians pull off a
second upset, we could have some impressive
company at the airport. So the Italians should
have everything to play for. The half time scores
of both games will be key.
Last night was great. I had Mexico-Portugal on
NHK G on the big set with the sound down and the
adjacent computer was pulling in Angola-Iran on
an internet ESPN2 feed with a fractured American
announcer calling the action. 5 goals, one for
angola, Mexico shellacked with a red card and two
PKs one against them, which Portugal converted
and one for them which they missed. I wanted
Angola to knock out Mexico but El Tri squeezed
through to face Argentina in the knock out round.
My friends on the west coast of the US will have
to get up at 600 am to watch the Ghana game. I'll
just have to remind them.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home