Monday, June 26, 2006



Resurrection, courtesy of Wayne Rooney

This article appeared in the Wall Street Journal today.
I am adding it here in full. One poster on the LA Riot
Squad board, my friend Twigg, wrote "I am going to memorize
it like a lost gospel."

From the Wall Street Journal...

ON SPORTS
By STEFAN FATSIS


Long-Term Goals
For Soccer in the U.S.
June 23, 2006

For me, the money shot from the 2-1 loss to Ghana that eliminated the U.S. from the World Cup on Thursday wasn't the nonfoul that led to the penalty kick that changed the game's course. It was the first-half picture from an ESPN camera showing, oh, 60 or 70 people in Times Square watching the game on a giant video screen.

Granted, standing on an island in the middle of Broadway for any longer than it takes for the crossing signal to change is generally not a great idea. Still, I've seen bigger crowds there for three-card monte. So what was ESPN thinking? Look everyone! No one's watching the World Cup in Times Square! We're definitely not a soccer nation yet!
[World Cup]

As I type this shortly after the U.S.'s depressing exit from the World Cup -- one fortunate tie and two uninspired losses -- it may seem idiotic to say that the ESPN image was a worse representation of American soccer than the team's poor play in Germany. Or that soccer has never been healthier in the U.S. But it's true. So while you enjoy a World Cup free of hype and hope about the U.S. side, here are five ideas to consider about soccer's future in America:

1. Think long term. Very long term.

The hardest thing for people to accept and understand -- longtime fans, soccer haters, the awakening media, the gleefully dismissive European football world -- is that soccer in the U.S. has to be viewed through a lens more suitable for the Hubble telescope than for our nearsighted sports culture.

By long term, I don't mean the next World Cup. We're talking generations. There is no reason whatsoever that the U.S. should have been considered likely to repeat its performance of four years ago, when it backed into the second round, defeated (as it should have) neighboring Mexico and lost valiantly to Germany in the quarterfinals. And that has nothing to do with being drawn, along with Italy, the Czech Republic and Ghana, into the toughest four-nation group in the field this time around.


Why? The U.S. is still in the absolute infancy of its life as a soccer country. Think about it. In 1990 -- not that long ago -- the U.S. Soccer Federation sent college kids to play at the World Cup, for which the country had not qualified in 40 years. The U.S. was literally one of the weakest national soccer teams in the world.

Short-term thinking is understandable in the screaming in-game chat rooms on Big Soccer, where players are vilified or praised based on their last touch of the ball. But even the emerging class of Big Thinkers about soccer have trouble getting it. Writing about the U.S., Dave Eggers produced the smarmiest piece in "The Thinking Fans's Guide to the World Cup," which assessed soccer in each of the 32 finalist countries. Mr. Eggers made one valid point (that Americans haven't embraced soccer because we didn't invent it, but that's only part of the history) but mostly he fell back on old tropes about the hordes of soccer-playing kids who give up the sport at age 12. Over at another intellectual soccer pub, the New Republic's World Cup blog, after the Ghana match, Brian Sinkoff pondered U.S. coach Bruce Arena's lineups and formations and concluded: "Was the run to the quarterfinals in 2002 a fluke? I'm sure beginning to think so!"

Beginning to think so? Of course it was! The U.S.'s raw talent didn't justify the result. But that happens in soccer; South Korea and Turkey reached the semifinals in 2002, and they're not global soccer powers, either. It's natural to have expected more of this U.S. team; the emotions of the World Cup make believers of every face-painting, flag-waving, passport-holding citizen. But rational fans knew better.

When the U.S. wins its first World Cup in 2022 or 2026 or 2030, and plays beautifully doing it, no one will remember that a team from a generation earlier stunk it up in Gelsenkirchen and Kaiserslautern and Nuremberg.

2. Making world-class soccer players takes decades.

This may be a difficult concept to accept in a nation that put a man on the moon lickety split, but it's true. That the U.S. has developed as many internationally capable players as it has in the last decade and a half -- more than 50 Americans play in Europe now -- is impressive. But there's a World Cup of difference between creating competent players and creating brilliant ones.

The most glaring contrast between the U.S. and the soccer powers in the World Cup was the Americans' lack of strong, aggressive, confident midfielders and forwards -- the guys who take over games, who convert the rare and crucial opportunities. So far in this tournament, I've seen it in players like Steven Gerrard and Joe Cole of England in the 2-2 tie against Sweden, Arjen Robben in a 1-0 win over Serbia and Miroslav Klose of Germany in every game. The U.S. just doesn't have anyone who compares.

Why not? The reasons are numerous -- too many other dominant sports; limited exposure to great soccer; no true soccer tradition; an inadequate development system. Also, the sport is just hard. Touch, feel, vision, intuition—all are more central, and difficult to master, in a freewheeling, unscripted game played on a huge field than they are in other sports. In other sports, kids learn that casually -- often on playgrounds against older, better players.

That will be extremely hard to overcome. There's some good news, though. Forget the volume of kids who play peewee soccer. Quality coaching for the best ones is spreading, in the form of Americans who played growing up and ubiquitous soccer camps that import young Brits and Mexicans and Argentines to blow whistles. More important, the U.S. is beginning to develop the feeder system that's basic to European soccer, which plucks the best prepubescent boys for youth teams run by the professional clubs. About 200 players ages 14 to 17 play for youth teams affiliated with the New York Red Bulls of Major League Soccer.

But there isn't yet the structure or money for a truly expansive national program. About 35 high-school-aged players live, train and attend school full-time at a U.S. national-team program in Bradenton, Fla. "There are another 1,000 guys across this country as good as those 35," says Ivan Gazidis, MLS's deputy commissioner.

In Europe, no soccer prospect would consider going to college. In the U.S. many players don't have a choice, which soccer executives I've talked to believe is an impediment to player development (because intercollegiate competition is too weak). In his New York Times column on Thursday, David Brooks noted that most of the U.S. team players went to college, while their World Cup counterparts on other teams didn't. His larger point is that the U.S. has a great university system that gives it an edge over Europe in the real world. But he seems to assume that the trend will continue in soccer. It won't.

3. America can join the world elite without becoming a traditional soccer nation.

The sport will never -- not ever, no matter what -- supplant football, baseball or basketball as the primary objects of American sporting affections. That's OK. In order to field steadily better international teams, it doesn't need to.

But it does need to create a wider soccer culture. My nonscientific observation is that this World Cup is yielding more media coverage and more general interest in the U.S. than any before. My nonscientific explanation is that a lot of those soccer-playing kids are in their 20s and 30s now and happy to follow the world's biggest sporting event. How else to explain that "The Thinking Fan's Guide to the World Cup" is No. 21 on the New York Times's extended bestseller list this week?

So the creation of a modified soccer culture -- broad interest, but not Fate of the Nation stuff -- appears inevitable. To maximize its impact on the U.S.'s international standing, it would be helpful if some of that were transferred to professional soccer here. The domestic league, MLS, is enjoying a growth spurt. But for it to have significant impact on the development of U.S. talent, MLS will have to reach the point where it can pay players wages commensurate with those in Europe, so it becomes a net importer of international talent, so the level of play rises and helps American players get better.

What will it take? Consistent, golf-or-basketball-sized national TV audiences. A full complement of soccer-only stadiums. Enough great American players to sell to the rich European teams to fund marquee imports who will attract crowds. MLS is nowhere near that yet, and if even if it reaches those goals in however many years, it won't transform the U.S. into a soccer-first country. But it will ensure the U.S. can compete credibly and consistently against Germany, Italy and Brazil -- and Switzerland, Greece and Ecuador. If Argentina can win Olympic gold in men's basketball, the U.S. can certainly become a global force in men's soccer.

4. The soccer know-nothings will be extinct soon enough.

Even as this World Cup gets good-sized TV audiences -- eight million or more for some games if you total viewers on ABC/ESPN and Spanish-language Univision -- you can still feel the uncertainty surrounding soccer's presentation. Because soccer has never "broken through" in TV terms, there's a belief among network executives that it has to be presented "differently."

How else to explain Brent Musberger -- exemplar of mainstream American sports broadcasting circa 1985 -- handling studio duties on ABC? Or this comment in USA Today last week by one of ESPN's play-by-play announcers in Germany, Dave O'Brien: "There's kind of a petulant little clique of soccer fans. There's not many of them, but they're mean-spirited … And they're not really the audience we want to reach anyway."

As the New Republic blog noted, alienating core viewers doesn't seem like a smart way to build interest in your product. That may explain why a lot of soccer fans click over to Univision for the World Cup, even if they don't speak Spanish.

The belief that soccer needs to be Americanized for it to succeed is outdated. ESPN executives talk about using more stats, graphics and ``storytelling'' as ways to lure soccer-ambivalent fans. Don't fix what isn't broken. It only makes the U.S. look silly.

Again, this is a generational issue. In one or two or three more World Cups, ESPN won't have to tap a "baseball guy," as Mr. O'Brien described himself to USA Today, to call the World Cup. There will plenty of capable soccer guys to handle the job.

5. What the rest of the world thinks doesn't matter.

To generalize geopolitically, which is what writers on soccer like to do (and as I've done), the U.S. has a rare and justifiable underdog complex in soccer, in which the soccer establishment luxuriates.



Inside the business, there are two deeply held, and spreading, beliefs among European soccer heavies. First, the U.S. market is ripe for sucking a few million bucks from summer tours because there are enough knowledgeable or curious fans to fill a few football stadiums to watch Manchester United or Real Madrid. Second, there is enough potential talent running around on suburban greenswards to merit extensive scouting, wooing and, if necessary, buying.

But there's little respect for the U.S. domestic product on the field. "Either MLS is ignored, which it mostly is, or it's criticized," says Jeff L'Hote, an American who works as a soccer industry consultant in the U.S. and Europe.

Outside of the business of soccer, when it's considered at all, U.S. soccer as an entity is a source of ridicule, never mind the Americans on European rosters. The Fiver column in England's Guardian newspaper on Thursday described the U.S. team or particular players variously as ``totally incompetent," "butcher boys," "plodsome" and "highly fallible."

Though I'd go with "comparatively incompetent" to describe the U.S. performance, Fiver isn't wrong at all. But, because the subject is the U.S., it is gleefully uncharitable. It's also irrelevant to the more important, and more, um, plodsome, conversation about the sport's future.

Write to Stefan Fatsis at stefan.fatsis@wsj.com

Friday, June 23, 2006


The ref points to the spot and that's all folks!

I have taken appropriate measures, beginning with a call
to the office cancelling classes today. I'm healthy and
un-hungover but I simply to not wish to see anyone today
or hear their comments on last night's match. I may stay
in all day and blog or read. A replay has started and
I will go there first.

However I think a latin american greeting at the airport
with tomatoes for the team would be a step forward for
USA soccer, if only just to prove that we care. In Costa Rica
fans booed the team on arrival yesterday. One fan held
a sign: NOW HIRING: COFFEE PICKERS - ONLY REQUIREMENT:
LACK OF SHAME

On bigsoccer.com the following poll has been posted. Leave
a comment here or go vote directly here

Who is most to blame....

Pablo and Eddie for the dumb reds vs. Italy
Bruce Arena: he's no genius
Landon Donovan: didn't provide the spark
Claudio Reyna: the captain didn't lead
Brian McBride: past his prime
The Referees: two dubious reds and a bad PK
FIFA: for the tough draw in a "group of death"
FIFA: for the #5 ranking that built up expectations
the Media: for making us believe the hype
Big Soccer posters for thinking we'd repeat 2002
"Gooch" Oneywu wasn't the presence in the back
George W. Bush: Iraq turned the world against us.
Other: somebody or something else

Thursday, June 22, 2006


I have some Ghana chocolate bars here
(glico chocolate company Osaka) which I
will devour at kickoff. Ghana, however,
in addition to having a team which could
very well beat us tonight, has a kick ass
national anthem. Here are the lyrics:

God bless our homeland Ghana
And make our nation great and strong
Bold to defend for ever
The cause of Freedom and of Right
Fill our hearts with true humility
Make us cherish fearless honesty,
And help us to resist oppressors' rule
With all our will and might for evermore


Hail to thy name, O Ghana
To thee we make our solemn vow:
Steadfast to build together
A nation strong in Unity
WITH OUR GIFT OF MIND AND STRENGTH OF ARM
Whether night or day, in mist or storm
IN EVERY NEED WHAT'ER THE CALL MAYBE
TO SERVE THEE, O Ghana, NOW EVERMORE


Raise high the flag of Ghana
AND ONE WITH AFRICA ADVANCE
BLACK STAR OF HOPE AND HONOUR
To all who thirst for Liberty
Where the banner of Ghana freely flies
May the way to freedom truly lie
Arise, arise, O sons of Ghanaland
And under God march on for evermore!

Peace and let's have a great game with no
referee problems (It's a German, so OK)

Well, here it is, just do the math.
For the U.S. team to advance, we must defeat Ghana
in its last game. In addition to beating Ghana, the
United States needs one of these scenarios to take
place:

1. Italy defeats the Czech Republic.

2. Italy ties the Czech Republic 0-0 or 1-1 AND the
United States beats Ghana by at least four goals.

3. Italy ties the Czech Republic 2-2 or with a higher
score AND the United States beats Ghana by five or more goals.

4. Italy ties the Czech Republic 2-2 or with a higher
score AND the United States beats Ghana by four goals
AND the U.S. team scores at least three goals more
than the Czechs do in their tie.

5. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is six or more.

6. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is five AND the U.S. team scores at least
three goals more than the Italians do in their loss.

7. The Czech Republic beats Italy AND the total
combined margin of victory for the Americans and
Czechs is five AND the U.S. team scores exactly
two more goals than the Italians do in their loss
AND the Americans win a drawing of lots by FIFA.
------------------------------------------------

So the options are slim if the Italians don't win.
But if they don't and the Ghanians pull off a
second upset, we could have some impressive
company at the airport. So the Italians should
have everything to play for. The half time scores
of both games will be key.

Last night was great. I had Mexico-Portugal on
NHK G on the big set with the sound down and the
adjacent computer was pulling in Angola-Iran on
an internet ESPN2 feed with a fractured American
announcer calling the action. 5 goals, one for
angola, Mexico shellacked with a red card and two
PKs one against them, which Portugal converted
and one for them which they missed. I wanted
Angola to knock out Mexico but El Tri squeezed
through to face Argentina in the knock out round.

My friends on the west coast of the US will have
to get up at 600 am to watch the Ghana game. I'll
just have to remind them.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006


Woke at 4:50 a.m., no alarm, I just
do it anyway, so I went downstairs
and pulled up a grainy spanish
language Univision feed of the
England-Sweden match. I'm glad I
did, catching three goals with the
enthusaistic announcer shouting
"GOL GOL GOL DE ANGLATERRRRRRRAAAA!!"
England scored what should have
been the winner while their supporters
were singing "God Save the Queen."
Now I'll support Sweden to knock
out the Germans.

On ESPN2 they reported that injured
Czech forward Baros of Liverpool fame
may be ready for the Italy match.
The two Ghana goal scorers from Sat.
are out with yellow cards but Essien
is still out there, circling like a
rogue shark...

OK, punch drunk off to work.

Tuesday, June 20, 2006



I've just watched the replay of the USA-
Italy match for the 2nd time, this time
with BBC or ITN English commentary. A
reveting match to remember, blood, con-
troversy, one hard way to earn our first
ever WC point in Europe. You can even
here the USA supporters chanting over
the crowd. Now it's down to what game
we bring on Thursday. Italy and the
Czechs should have a game on as the
winner would face Australia or Croatia
instead of Brazil, our like candidate
should we go through. Still, plots
and conniving are not impossible. The
best scenario is that Ghana get an
early lead over us, thus forcing Italy
and the Czechs to play for a win, then we
back with a gaggle of goals to win and
go through.

Thursday rally to watch USA-Ghana at
Route 66 Bar in Osaka (phone 06-6775-8684)
Shitennoji-mae Yuhigaoka subway station,
exit 4 go straight out, veer to the right
on the main street going south and the
sign is 30 m. in front of you, 3rd floor.
Kickoff is 11:00 get there early.

Monday, June 19, 2006



Toonboy (an English Newcastle supporter)
posted this on the Big Soccer boards
yesterday - read more here

"Last night though America achieved something,
I never thought was possible. I feel it was
the finest hour of the Unites States of America,
not just in football, but in life. The character
shown by the yanks was a joy to behold, and the
USA were the dominant side against so called
superior opposition. In terms of how the world
views America as a nation, and I'm sure a lot
of you won't care, but perceptions all over
the world will change forever after last night,
particularly in football. Last night America
arrived in the world, they are now without a
shadow of a doubt a player in football, and
you're the best side in your part of the world.
It's a joke that FIFA rank USA 5th in the world,
but honestly, you'd definitely be in the top 20,
and I mean that. You ran the Italians ragged.
The sad thing is if that game was in the
Premiership, USA would've finished with 11 men
and Italy 10. You should be so so proud today."

Other stuff. Pretty exhausted yesterday so I
stayed home to watch Japan-Croatia and Oz-
Brazil. Both teams broke their supporters'
hearts but Oz still in better position to qualify
behind the Samba boys. Brazil will eat Japan
like a slab of sushi. Some massive matches
ahead, especially us on Thursday. At least I
can start wearing my USA shirt again with
pride.

Sunday, June 18, 2006


above: The ghost of Andres Escobar haunts the Italians

A few quick thoughts before I go to the public bath.

Next World Cup I must either be there or only associate with
people who care about it. When I meet someone who professes
ignorance or who says something dumb about football I am
inspired to kill them right then and there.

Watched three matches last night and still had energy afterwards.
Thank you V-star bar for staying open when Murphys closed early.
Thank you Damian Flanagan for coming in from Kobe and watching it
with me. Brillant passion, roller coaster emotions and a happy end.

Thank you soccer gods for giving us a 1-1 draw with 9 men and
restoring national honor and to the voodoo gods of Ghana for
hexing the czechs. If you read this and you want to watch a
replay of the USA Italy at my house at 6pm Osaka time, call
me at 090-8382-9424.

If you are reading this go to this video NOW.

Saturday, June 17, 2006


Above: A hot Brazilian in LA celebrates Kaka's
goal against Croatia

Imagine you are right here, right now,
drinking Deutsches Bier with USA supporters
Red White and Brew party Kaiserslautern

Last night I watched the 6-0 Argentina
whipping of Serbia Montenegro at both
the Pig & Whistle and at Murphys. Damian
was the only familiar face and I was
grateful for his company and sympathetic
words, both for the US and for this very
blog. I biked home and fell asleep in
front of the TV (missing all of Netherlands
Ivory Coast). This morning started badly
as I accidently read the result of Angola-
Mexico, thurs ruining the 11 am rebroadcast.

Then, in the IHT was this damning article
on the state of US soccer, which put to
words some of my worst suspicions about the
U.S. team; unimaginative, banal, boring,
uninspiring. Read it all here:
Vibrant America's Drab Soccer by John Vinocur

So it's a few hours before the first kickoff
tonight. No one has called or confirmed they
will be at Murphys and even Mike last night
was trying to wind me up by saying they would
close and we couldn't watch the game. Alone, then
if necessary, but alone we'll fight.

I predict 1-0 Italy because that is what they do.
Gods, prove me wrong.

Friday, June 16, 2006


above: Landon Donovan greeted by U.S. troops
at Ramstein AFB, Germany

Official viewing spot for USA-Italy will
be Murphys Irish Pub in Osaka Shinsaibashi,
kickoff 4 a.m., come early for Czech Republic
Ghana at 1 a.m. e-mail or call for directions.

It's been a long week of trying to defend the
USA during a week when we sank to last place
in the tournament (until we were replaced by
the Ukraine, gracias Espana!). I received an
e-mail from from my Brit friend Matt Cooper
who said "USA, like the administration doesn't
understand..it's Art and World Camaderie vs
Naf isolationalism-chip on your shoulder-biggotry
boredom." We may not be artistic but we cer-
tainly are not bigoted, neither the team nor
the fans and I asked him to provide a quote
or proof before he makes such a comment.

We were guilty of modest expectations based on
our 2002 run to the Quarterfinals, winning the
CONCACAF qualifying group, and yes, that infernal
FIFA #5 in the World ranking. Imperial hubris?
We knew the Czechs were very very good, but give
them credit, they played like monsters, especially
Kollar, who channeled the Prague Golem.

Yet he may have a point on the isolationism as
the USMNT are cloistered this week inside
an American 'Green Zone,' namely the US military
base outside of Kaiserslautern Germany. Troops
arrive and depart for the Middle East here and
it where the wounded are first airlifted to.
Quotes from the team suggest everyone is happy
'to be in America again' and if you have ever
been on a base anywhere in the world you know
what I mean. I'm crossing my fingers that the 'bad
guys' haven't targeted this match nor the cup and
that everything passes off without incident.

My gut feeling says 1-0 to Italy and even 1-1
would be more than we deserve, but I still dream
of a win a second round place because
dreams are what the World Cup is all about.

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Visit the new 1st video on the player above
for healing closure.

--------------------------------------------
HAMBURG, Germany (June 13, 2006) – Following
the 3-0 loss to the Czech Republic, the U.S.
players talked to reporters in the mixed zone
before returning to Hamburg.

Bobby Convey
On the game and what went wrong:
“Our spacing and formation wasn’t good. We didn’t
move well off the ball, and defensively we didn’t
win a lot of second balls. Any time you go down in
the third or fourth minute against a team that can
hold the ball that well and move it around it’s
going to be difficult.”

Brian McBride
On the result:
“It wasn’t the service. As a team I think we need
to play a little bit better and more confident,
and sure – I was part of that.”

Kasey Keller
On the result:
“They are the second ranked team in the world, so
obviously you have to give them some credit. But
also, they beat us. We gave up an early goal and
Claudio hits the post and it should be 1-1, and
then they come down there and Rosicky hits a bomb
and we’re down 2-0 for not a whole lot. It was just
a shame. We definitely gave the game away, and
that’s what we’re frustrated at.”

On if the U.S. was at fault on any of the goals:
“We were a little bit at fault. I don’t know how
much at fault we were for the second one,
you have to give Rosicky a little bit of credit for
that, but the first one it just didn’t happen for
us. Maybe I played a ball too quick trying to get
Bobby (Convey) through and they just came back down
with a great cross and open (Jan) Koller in
the box – you are going to pay a price for that.
We’re better than we played today and we’ll show
you that in the next two games.”

Landon Donovan
On the result:
“To be fair, we got beat by a pretty good team.
I didn’t think we played terribly in the first
half, but were a little bit lifeless and a
little bit unlucky. Give them credit. They
scored three great goals.”

On if the game plan was to blame:
“We can look back and say whatever we want now.
Not enough guys came to play and that’s what mattered.”

On the World Cup opening with a disappointing result:
“There’s two ways to look at it. You’re at a World Cup,
and for a lot of us – especially the MLS guys, since
January this has been the date that has been circled
and it’s disappointing. That being said, it’s not over.
It’s going to be hard, but it’s not over and we don’t
want to have this memory be terrible.”

On the attitude of the team after the loss:
“It’s hard to keep your head up right now because we
are disappointed, but you have to turn around. This
is the way this tournament goes. I remember we lost
by two goals to Poland last time and still got
through, so you have take the positives. But whatever
happens in the Italy game result-wise, it was
embarrassing tonight and that shouldn’t happen.”

On his play:
“I didn’t get the ball enough. When I did get it
I made some decent plays, but not enough. I don’t
think I had a shot on goal, and playing 45 minutes
as a forward that’s my job.”

Eddie Lewis
On where the team stands after this game:
“At this stage we want to regroup ourselves,
take a look and see how fit everyone is, and
then really start to concentrate on Italy in
the next day or two.”

On the challenges that are ahead:
“I think we know that every game in this group
is going to be extremely tough, and we faced
quite a challenge today. Now we just need to
pick ourselves up and get ready for the next
two.”

John O’Brien
On the result:
“We expect more from ourselves, and the coaches
expect more from us too, and I think that is
reasonable. A lot of guys could have played a
little bit better including myself. Next game
around hopefully we can step up and set that straight.”

On if the team came out tentative:
“I don’t really think it was tentativeness.
Coming behind a goal early, I think that
might have changed things. We expected them
to come out strong and pressure us after
they scored a goal they sat back a little
more and we had to try to pick them apart
which was difficult. The way the game went
it was tough to get in and play our game.”

Eddie Pope
On Koller scoring the first goal:
“He created the space. He shoved me a little bit in the back, and created space for
himself. They didn’t call it. Once I got the
little shove I was too far forward to get back.”

On the difference in this team’s reaction
and the 1998 team:
“I think in '98 we started pointing fingers
immediately, and this team doesn't do that at
all. We all believe in each other and we all
believe that we can regroup and move forward.
in '98 it was a little bit different."

Claudio Reyna
On what went wrong:
“Other guys are looking to everyone else to
make plays and you can’t do that. Everyone
has to be brave and want the ball. In the
second half it was more crowded in the middle
and it was tough to get forward. We had three
in the back, so it was dangerous for me or
John (O’Brien) to get forward in the second
half. In the first half, when the times were
right I wanted to get forward and get the
team going. We created more in the first half
– at least opportunities and crosses and I
hit the post. Overall we know that we have to
play better to get anything out of the Italy game.”

On Landon Donovan:
“Today he played as a second striker and I
think they marked him very well and it was
difficult for him to find space. In the second
half he found a little bit more room, but when
they scored it made it more difficult for him
because they had a lot of players back. It was
tough for our attacking four players to get space
because they got back quickly and they made the
space for our players so difficult.”
One element of understanding the World Cup
is being able to see how the play of each
team is an accurate reflection of that
country's personality and place in the
world. When I watch the highlights of the
U.S. team in Korea in 2002, coach Arena
rallies the players before the first kickoff
with the words "We represent the greatest
nation in the world!" The boys cheer and go
out and beat Portugal. That was then.
Two days ago our team looked tentative,
unsure, outclassed. Do they believe in
themselves, in America, the greatest nation
in the world?

AP reports that President George W. Bush called
the team a few hours before the game. He did
so before the game in 2002 against Mexico. We
won. This time we took the call then we
went out and flopped. Did hubris, a reflection
of our leaders, spread to even the USMNT, rated
#4 in FIFA's ratings? I know millions around
the world cheered against us and were overjoyed
when we lost. Maybe a national humiliation
was something we fully deserved. At least I
hope the next President whomever he or she might
be will keep up the tradition.

"CAMP DAVID, Md. - The U.S. World Cup soccer
team got good luck wishes from the world's most
powerful sports fan Monday when President Bush
dialed them up before their opening match against
the Czech Republic.

Bush called the team from Camp David, Md., where
he was getting ready to begin a two-day summit on
Iraq with his top national security and military
advisers.

The affairs of state may have gotten in the way
of Bush watching the midday game live, but he
was able to reach the team at their hotel before
they left for their pre-game warm-up. Coach
Bruce Arena and most of the players listened on
speaker phone, said White House spokeswoman Dana Perino.


"He told them that they had prepared well and urged
them to play hard, to keep their heads up and that
he can't wait to see them win," Perino said.

---

Tuesday, June 13, 2006


HUMBLED. That's the word. You prepare,
you psyche yourself up for a big moment,
you say you believe and you dream like
everyone in the world that your team is
going to stand up and play a great game
and insteads it all collapses like a
pile of cards before your eyes. First
the Japanese and then us. The real wailing
is on the US forums on www.bigsoccer.com
so you can go there for that. I'll add
some technical points later. My own fault
was going into Blarney Stone to watche the
game singing and scarving it up. Kevin and
another yank joined me but it didn't stop
some late celebrating Aussies from getting
in our faces and messing with us after we went
down early and it was obvious we were going
to lose. Mea culpa.

Monday, June 12, 2006

Well, it is that moment, the cusp of either
great things or dark dark dismal Scandinavian
depression out on the pack ice. We will see
what we are made of tonight on the field of
battle. Regardless of the result, we play
all three games and let the dice roll and
roll till they come to a stop.
FOR THOSE ABOUT TO ROCK WE SALUTE YOU!!!

Call to give encouragement at 090-8382-9424

Sunday, June 11, 2006


Alright, bring the NOISE,
Monday night/Tuesday 1:00 a.m

I will watch the the Japan-Australia game at
Captain Kangaroo in Kitashinchi Umeda and then
move to Blarney Stone as soon as it is over.
I'll bring two extra USA shirts for anyone who
will wear the colors. Call me at 090-8382-9424
to hook up.

Intense viewing report: Opening match Germany-
Costa Rica seen at home. Impressive display of
goal scoring by both teams. The Ticos (CR) were
out of their depth but Wanchope saved face with
two nice goals. I'd say that Lehmann still looks
as shaky in goal - I'd go to Kahn if I were Klins-
mann (sacrilege for an Arsenal supporter).

Poland didn't bring their game against Ecuador.
Too bad for their fans.

Then the pub crush at Murphys for England-Paraguay
All the usual suspects present and accounted for.
Hoisted a USA scarf in the corner and then we
settled in for a dismal display after England's
nice little first goal. The heat played a role but the
2nd half was rubbish, as was Crouch, kicking around
like a wounded stork. Oh well, the English have their
3 points but they will need more if they expect to
get to the finals. If I were Sven...wait a minute,
I am.

Sweden TT seen at the Pig and Whistle to the accompani-
ment of a Japanese Steel Drum band. Credit to the
Soca Warriors for hanging on after an early 2nd half
red card to pull off the 0-0 draw. Sweden look nothing
like their 2002 team and may let TT or Paraguay sneak
into the 2nd round.

I found a Chinese TV viewer program that lets you
watch the ESPN2 feed from the USA. If you want to
hear what Americans are hearing from all the live
matches download it here although Dave O'Brien is
supposed to be so socer illiterate that he reads
from cue cards!

http://www.tvunetworks.com/downloads/TVUPlayer.zip

Saturday, June 10, 2006

I want to thank, in order of appearance, Charlie, Ray,
Kevin, Mark, Mike, Lee, James and Brian for coming to
the USA kickoff party at the Blarney Stone on Thursday.
Thanks to you, we had just enough people to make the
event work - the rest of you out there are WEAK SAUCE,
to use a colorful British term. Kevin and Ray won the
pub quiz prizes although this was not graded scientifi-
cally. Highlight videos of the USMNT were seen on the
big screen for the first time ever in Osaka and a rousing
rendition of the Flintstones themesong was sung. See
you Monday night (Tue AM) 1:00 at the Blarney again
for USA - CZECH Republic.

Tuesday, June 06, 2006


(above the infamous Torsten Frings handball on Gregg Berhalters shot 2002 Korea)

The U.S. played a secret friendly match with Angola earlier today, getting a 1-0 result. Unlike other countries the USA is not playing any full friendly warm-up matches in Germany before their group games. But the big buzz is Group E foe Ghana taking out South Korea in Edinburgh 3-1, right after Coach Bruce Arena said that Ghana would be a guaranteed 3 points for the Yanks. The tension mounts...

HAMBURG, Germany (AP) -- Brian McBride scored as the United States beat Angola 1-0 Monday night in a closed-door practice game played without fans or media.
U.S. players didn't wear uniform numbers for the game, which did not count as an official international and allowed free substitutions. U.S. team spokesman Michael Kammarman said McBride scored but provided no other details.
Angola team spokesman Arlindo Macedo said U.S. captain Claudio Reyna was impressive for the Americans, though Kammarman declined to say if Reyna played or not.

Reyna has not been out since straining his right hamstring on May 23 against Morocco. "They didn't wear numbers, and the United States didn't want to give names of players," Angola coach Luis Oliviera Goncalves said.
Angola played with 10 men for much of the match after Loco got his second yellow card in about the 30th minute. "In the second half we dominated most of the game, but in general it was very balanced," Goncalves said. The Angolans also said the U.S. used backup goalkeeper Tim Howard later in the match.

Saturday, June 03, 2006


Easy to digest nuggets:

U.S. team arrived in Hamburg this weekend and
set up camp at Hamburg SV. Their arrival to
a singing choir and a red carpet was a lot
better than their departure from Newark Airport
when exactly TWO USA supporters came out to see
them off. The guydid get his shirt signed by
the team and gets myvote for fan of the century.
Read his report here.

US Soccer now has a daily web TV show called
Studio 90 - see it here Studio 90.

I am finishing up the pub quiz and the 10 ways to
enjoy the World Cup pieces for the kickofr
party at Blarney Stone. This should be an
interesting evening. The prizes will mostly
be DVDs of highlights and matches.