Friday, June 23, 2006


The ref points to the spot and that's all folks!

I have taken appropriate measures, beginning with a call
to the office cancelling classes today. I'm healthy and
un-hungover but I simply to not wish to see anyone today
or hear their comments on last night's match. I may stay
in all day and blog or read. A replay has started and
I will go there first.

However I think a latin american greeting at the airport
with tomatoes for the team would be a step forward for
USA soccer, if only just to prove that we care. In Costa Rica
fans booed the team on arrival yesterday. One fan held
a sign: NOW HIRING: COFFEE PICKERS - ONLY REQUIREMENT:
LACK OF SHAME

On bigsoccer.com the following poll has been posted. Leave
a comment here or go vote directly here

Who is most to blame....

Pablo and Eddie for the dumb reds vs. Italy
Bruce Arena: he's no genius
Landon Donovan: didn't provide the spark
Claudio Reyna: the captain didn't lead
Brian McBride: past his prime
The Referees: two dubious reds and a bad PK
FIFA: for the tough draw in a "group of death"
FIFA: for the #5 ranking that built up expectations
the Media: for making us believe the hype
Big Soccer posters for thinking we'd repeat 2002
"Gooch" Oneywu wasn't the presence in the back
George W. Bush: Iraq turned the world against us.
Other: somebody or something else

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home